List of CFI’s

We have a number of members who are also flight instructors available to train, perform checkouts and BFR’s.   The lack of an “X” in the CFI column indicates that the instructor is unavailable at this time for training.

All CFIs are independent to the club and any charges will be paid directly to them.

FLIGHT INSTRUCTORS: If you need to update the information below, please contact the chief flight instructor at chiefcfi@bayareaaeroclub.org.

This table was last updated July 10, 2018.

 

Name Phone Email Pilot Cert CFI Cert PVT IFR COM CFI TW HP RG AFSP Notes
Travis Barker travbk@hotmail.com COM SMI X X X X X X Email is best, really!
Anthony Canale 614-747-1796 anthony.canale@gmail.com COM SI X X X X X X
James B. Dabney 832-444-7681 jdabney@rice.edu  COM SMI X X
Stephen Devine 281-650-5019 steve@3dhouston.com COM SI X X X  X X X Available most times
Jon Disler 832-331-9029 jondisler@me.com  ATP  SMI X  X  X  X  X  X X  Available most times
Harry Stenvall  832-276-8957 hcstenvall@yahoo.com ATP SMI X X X X X X X X Limited availability / Gold Seal (CFII) / CGI/IGI/MEI/CFI-Glider
Alan Fox 281-334-5478 281-244-7376 alan.c.fox@nasa.gov  COM SI X X X X X X X Weekdays after work & weekends;
Gold Seal; AGI; will trade instruction for flight time
Bruce Black 713-213-0820 bruce@black5if5.com ATP SMI X X X X  X X X AGI/IGI with 50 years of flying experience
Ramon Hernandez 210-884-8555 ramon-hernandez@att.net ATP SMI X X X X X Call for availability
Jeffrey Kling 281-684-7016 jeff@klingaviation.com ATP SMI X X X X X X X X Limited Availability;
Gold Seal (CFII), AGI
Earl Phillips 281-844-2361 earlphil@verizon.net COM SMI X X X X X X X X A&P-IA; Gold Seal, AGI, IGI
David Rutishauser 757-813-4404 dkrutishauser@verizon.net COM SI X X X X X X X
David Soto 281-787-5375 dsoto1@comcast.net COM S X X X X X
Yoshino Sugita 832-691-1796 yoshino.sugita@nasa.gov ATP SMI X X X X
Jeff Bennett 281-482-8585 georgejeffbennett@gmail.com COM S X X X X X Avail weekday evenings and weekends
Lonnie Miller 757-879-4563  LGM151@gmail.com COM S X X X X X Limited Avail, UAV and seaplane

 

All BAAC CFI’s are qualified to provide:

FR = Flight Review (FAA Requirement)

Acronyms:
AFSP = Alien Flight Student Program
AGI = Advanced Ground Instructor
ATP = Airline Transport Pilot
BGI = Basic Ground Instructor
CFI = Certificated Flight Instructor
Com = Commercial Pilot
GI = Ground Instructor (Basic, Advanced, Instrument)
HP = high-performance
I or IFR = Instrument Rating
IGI = Instrument Ground Instructor
M = Multi Engine Land
PVT = Private
RG = retractable gear (complex)
S = Single Engine Land
TW = tailwheel